Melvin Jones Award

Melvin Jones was born on January 13, 1879 in Fort Thomas, Arizona, the son of a United States Army captain who commanded a troop of scouts. Later, his father was transferred and the family moved east. As a young man, Jones made his home in Chicago, Illinois, became associated with an insurance firm and in 1913 formed his own agency.

He soon joined the Business Circle, a businessmen's luncheon group, and was shortly elected secretary. This group was one of many at that time devoted solely to promoting the financial interests of their membership. Because of their limited appeal, they were destined to disappear. Melvin Jones, however, had other plans. "What if these men," he asked, "who are successful because of their drive, intelligence and ambition, were to put their talents to work improving their communities?" Thus, at his invitation, delegates from men's clubs met in Chicago to lay the groundwork for such an organization and on June 7, 1917, Lions Clubs International was born. It was stipulated that clubs were not to be social in nature nor were members permitted to promote their own business interests.

Melvin Jones Award Recipients

Neil Polaski - Melvin Jones Fellow 1987

Frank McLean - Melvin Jones Fellow 1987

William Mattson - Melvin Jones Fellow 1996, Pres 1992

Todd Horness - Melvin Jones Fellow 1997, Pres 1996

Rodney Hanson - Melvin Jones Fellow 1997

Kenneth Roth - Melvin Jones Fellow 1998

Ted Dullum - Melvin Jones Fellow 1998, PPres 1996

Roger Reynolds - Melvin Jones Fellow 1999

Jim Dullum - Melvin Jones Fellow 1999, Pres 1991

Lee Heurung - Melvin Jones Fellow 1999, Pres 1994

Ted Schaefer - Melvin Jones Fellow 1999, Pres 1997

Robert Hurst - Melvin Jones Fellow 1999, Pres 1998

Bruce Gately - Melvin Jones Fellow 2000, Pres 1983

John Weizenegger - Melvin Jones Fellow 2001

Wes Anderson - Melvin Jones Fellow 2002

Richard Bergman - Melvin Jones Fellow 2004

Christian Jensen - Melvin Jones Fellow 2004

Lee Smith - Melvin Jones Fellow 2004

Tom Beaver - Melvin Jones Fellow 2004

Bob Reichenbach - Melvin Jones Fellow 2007

Gordie Erickson - Melvin Jones Fellow 2007

Pauline Bottemiller - Melvin Jones Fellow 2007

Ron Reph - Melvin Jones Fellow 2010

Ginger Hustvedt - Melvin Jones Fellow 2012

Mike Rempe - Melvin Jones Fellow 2012

Robyn Schaefer - Melvin Jones Fellow 2012

Ron Hustvedt - Melvin Jones Fellow 2013

Ben Baloun - Melvin Jones Fellow 2013

Karen Baloun - Melvin Jones Fellow 2013

Helen Keller Award

In 1925, Lions accepted the challenge posed by Helen Keller (who became blind and deaf in childhood) to help persons who are deaf as well as those who are blind. 


Services provided by Lions clubs for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing include:

  • hearing awareness

  • hearing screenings

  • communications aids for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing

  • recreational camps for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing

  • support for the Deaf or hard of hearing community

In 2002-03, Lions donated more than $4.3 million and volunteered more than 292,000 hours to hearing-related service projects. Lions are invited to share news of their successful service projects for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing.

Helen Keller Award Recipients

Robert Hurst - Helen Keller Award 1997, Pres 1983

Roger Reynolds - Helen Keller Award 1998, Pres 1991

Frank McLean - Helen Keller Award 1997, Pres 1992

Kenneth Roth - Helen Keller Award 1997, Pres 1996

Lee Smith - Helen Keller Award 1998

William Mattson - Helen Keller Award 1998, Pres 1996

Ted Schaefer - Helen Keller Award 1998, Pres 1998

Wes Anderson - Helen Keller Award 1999

Ted Dullum - Helen Keller Award 1999

Russell King - Helen Keller Award 1999

Jim Dullum - Helen Keller Award 1999, Pres 1994

Lee Heurung - Helen Keller Award 1999, Pres 1997

Richard Bergman - Helen Keller Award 2000

Delmar Fisher - Helen Keller Award 2000

Bruce Gateley - Helen Keller Award 2001

Rodney Hanson - Helen Keller Award 2001

Christian Jensen - Helen Keller Award 2001

Ms Erin Herman - Helen Keller Award 2009

Todd Horness - Helen Keller Award 2012

Dick Haynes - Helen Keller Award 2012